Update February 10, 2016

Dhaka 5-46 am, 23-September, 2021

16 named for Ekushey Padak

Sumel Sarker

Ekushey Padak

16 named for Ekushey Padak

10 February 2016, Nirapad News: Sixteen eminent personalities have been named for Ekushey Padak-2016 in recognition of outstanding contribution in their respective fields.

The Ministry of Cultural Affairs on Wednesday announced the names.

The recipients are : Justice Kazi Ebadul Haque, Syed Golam Kibria (posthumous), Dr Sayeed Haider and Dr Jasim Uddin for language movement, Mofidul Haque in liberation war, Toab Khan in journalism while Jyoti Prakash Dutta, Dr Hayat Mamud and Habibullah Siraji in language and literature.

Besides, Jahanara Ahmed in arts, Pundit Amaresh Roy Chowdhury in classical music, Shaheen Samad in music, Amanul Haque in dance, Kazi Golam Hossain (posthumous) in painting, and Prof ABM Abdullah and Mong Chhen Ching Mongchhin in research.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina will hand over the awards to the recipients at the Osmani Memorial Auditorium on February 20.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)