Update May 20, 2015

Dhaka 4-25 am, 11-August, 2020

37 DU students get scholarship

Sumel Sarker


37 DU students get scholarship

20 May 2015, Nirapad News: A total of 37 students from different disciplines of Dhaka University (DU) today received IFIC Bank Trust Fund scholarships for their outstanding academic results.

Besides, seven young teachers and other three meritorious students have received IFIC Bank research grants for their research activities.

Bangladesh Bank (BB) Governor Prof Atiur Rahman distributed the research grants and scholarships among the awardees as chief guest at a function at the Nabab Nawab Ali Chowdhury Senate Bhaban of the university.

Dhaka University Vice-Chancellor Prof AAMS Arefin Siddique presided over the function while Treasurer Prof Md Kamal Uddin and IFIC Bank Managing Director Shah A Sarwar addressed it as special guests.

Prof Atiur Rahman said skilled manpower is a must for development of socio-economic condition in a country while proper education can help to produce skilled human resources.

Therefore, we have to invest more funds in the education sector, he added.

The BB governor urged the corporate houses including banking sector to come forward with helping hands to develop education and research at the universities.

While speaking, the DU Vice-Chancellor Prof AAMS Arefin Siddique called upon the teachers, students and researchers to work together for up-grading university education into international standard.

He also urged the various bank authorities to provide financial support to meritorious students to make them as global standard graduates.

The recipients of IFIC Bank research grants are Associate Prof Md Shafiqul Islam, Lecturer Md Fazlul Hoque and Lecturer Mohammad Monzur Hossain Khan (Nuclear Engineering), Lecturer Ishrat Ferdous, Lecturer S.M. Kamrul Hasan and Lecturer Md Shakhawat Hossain and Lecturer Dewan Md Anamul Hoque (Disaster Science & Management).

The recipients of IFIC Bank Trust Fund Scholarships are Md Mahmudur Rahman Khan, K.M. Azam Chowdhury and Mohammad Shahinoor Rahman (Oceanography), Ripon Bishas, Sanjoy Sarker, Zubiur Syed, Habibur Rahman, Md Zafar Dewan, Md Hossain Shadat, Md Iqbal Hossain, Asfaqur Rahman, Md Kowshar Hamid, A.B.S. Manik Munshi, Md Sabbir Hossain, Suranjana Shaha, Syfur Rahman, Ruhania Tarannum, Busra Nafreen Sattar, Tarique Mohammad Salman, Md Abu Baker Talukder and Mohammad Pabel Kabir (Nuclear Engineering). Humayun Kabir, Md Tarequr Rahman, Shanta Islam and Maksuda Gazi (Banking & Insurance), Mahbubul Haque, Rojina Akter, Rafiqul Islam Rubel and Amena Khatun (Management Information Systems), Md Reyad-ul-Islam, Amena Akter, Md Biplob Hossain and Farjana Nasreen (International Business), Abul Kalam Azad, Abu Syed, Ismat Jahan and Farjana Akter (Tourism & Hospitality Management).

Besides, Md Masud-ul-Alam, Synthia Towhidi and Abdullah-Al-Hasan (Oceanography) have received IFIC Bank research grants.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)