Update December 14, 2015

Dhaka 4-47 pm, 04-August, 2021

7 Awami League candidates elected mayor uncontested

Sumel Sarker


7 Awami League candidates elected mayor uncontested

14 December 2015, Nirapad News: Seven Awami League-backed mayoral candidates have been elected unopposed as they were the lone candidate in their respective municipalities for the upcoming municipal elections.

Election Commission Joint Secretary (Election Management) Jesmin Tuli said altogether 162 candidates withdrew their nomination papers on Sunday, the last day for doing so.

The municipalities where the Awami League candidates got a walkover are Pirojpur, Madarganj, Tungiparha, Chhengarchar, Feni, Parshuram and Chatkhil.

“The returning officers (for those municipalities) declared them elected on Monday. They will also send reports to the EC,” said Tuli.

She said the Commission will announce the names of the mayor-elects later in the afternoon.

A total of 921 candidates are running for the post of mayor in 234 municipalities, where elections, the first-ever to be held along political party lines, are slated for Dec 30.

Of them, 233 are from the Awami League, 219 from the BNP, and 73 from the Jatiya Party. The rest are from other parties and independent runners, said Jesmin Tuli.

The returning officers began allotting the electoral symbols from Monday morning to the mayoral and councillor aspirants, EC Deputy Secretary Shamsul Alam told .

The candidates will begin their official campaign once process ends in the afternoon, he said.

He said the mayoral candidates will get their party’s symbols, while the independent runners, general and reserved seat councillor aspirants will get the symbols they prefer.

In case more than one candidate wants the same symbol, Alam said the matter would be decided through lottery. The EC will allot symbols from its additional list, if needed.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)