Update January 5, 2017

Dhaka 6-51 am, 31-October, 2020

AL forms 10-member committee to place proposals on EC

Mirajul Moin Joy

Bangladesh Awami League

5 January 2017, Nirapad News: Bangladesh Awami League yesterday formed a 10-member committee to place proposals and recommendations on the formation of the next Election Commission (EC).

The committee was constituted at a joint meeting of the AL Central Working Committee and Advisory Council held at Ganabhaban, the official residence of Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina, yesterday.

Prime Minister and AL President Sheikh Hasina chaired the meeting, an AL press release said.

AL Advisory Council Member HT Imam has been made convenor of the committee, while members of the committee are Barrister Shafiq Ahmed, Dr Mohiuddin Khan Alamgir, Md Rashidul Alam, Ambassador Muhammad Zamir, Advocate Abdul Baset Majumdar, Dr Abdur Razzak, Advocate Abdul Mannan Khan, Dr Dipu Moni and Advocate Abdul Matin Khasru.

On behalf of the party, the committee would place the proposals and put forward recommendations on the formation of EC to AL President Sheikh Hasina, the release said.

A delegation of Bangladesh Awami League led by Sheikh Hasina will exchange views with President Abdul Hamid at Bangabhaban on the formation of the EC at 4pm on January 11, the release added.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)