Update December 31, 2018

Dhaka 7-03 pm, 06-August, 2020

AL wins 259 seats, Jatiya Party 20, Oikyafront 7

Mirajul Moin Joy

Awami League-led Grand Alliance candidates were unofficially declared elected in 285 constituencies while Dr Kamal-led Jatiya Oikyafront came out successful in seven seats in the early counting of votes.

Of the Grand Alliance, Awami League alone got 259 seats while Jatiya Party 20, Election Commission Secretary Helal Uddin Ahmed announced at 4:02am on Monday.

Three independent candidates also emerged victorious.

ccording to the unofficial results, Awami League President and Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina won the election from Gopalganj-3 constituency.

Sheikh Hasina bagged 229,539 votes while her nearest rival SM Jilani of BNP polled 123.

Awami League runner Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury was unofficially elected from Rangpur-6 by a huge margin.

She bagged 234,426 votes in all 107 polling stations of the constituency while her nearest rival Jatiya Oikyafront contender Saiful Islam polled 24,053.

Jatiay Party Chairman HM Ershad was unofficially declared elected in Rangpur-3 constituency.

Ershad bagged 142,926 votes while his nearest rival candidate Rita Rahman of Jatiya Oikyafront polled 53,089.

In Gopalganj-2, AL candidate Sheikh Fazlul Karim Selim bagged 281,909 votes to defeat his nearest rival Taslim Shikdar from Islamic Andolon Bangladesh who polled 608. BNP aspirant Sirajul Islam got 286 votes in the election.

In Gopalganj-1, AL contestant M Faruk Khan defeated SD Sharfuzzaman Jahangir by a huge margin of vote. Faruk bagged 303,162 votes against 57 of Jahangir.

Bangladesh ODI captain Mashrafe Bin Mortaza has won a landslide victory in Narail-2 constituency.

Mashrafe got 274,418 out of 284,813 votes which were cast as per the unofficial counting. His e closest contender Jatiya Oikyafront’s AZM Dr. Fariduzzaman polled 8,006.

In Kishoreganj-1 constituency, Awami League aspirant Syed Ashraful Islam was unofficially elected bagging 260,973 votes against his rival candidate Rezaul Karim Khan of BNP.

Jatiya Party candidate Mujibul Hoque Chunnu came out successful bagging 239,616 votes in Kishoreganj-3 constituency while Awami League candidate Rezwan Ahmed Toufiq got 258,516 votes in Kishoreganj-4 constituency to win the election.

BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir came out successful in Bogura-6 constituency. He bagged 205,987 votes to defeat the Jatiya Party candidate who polled 39,961.

In Bogura-4, Mosharraf Hossain defeated Boat candidate securing 128,585 votes against Boat candidate’s 86,048.

In Thakurgaon-3 seat, BNP’s Zahidur Rahman was elected unofficially bagging 87,165 votes against AL rebel Imdadaul Haque’s 84,109.

In Moulvibazar-2 constituency, Jatiya Oikyafront candidate Sultan Mohammad Monsur Ahmed defeated Bikolpa Dhara Bangladesh contestant MM Shaheen. Sultan Monsur bagged 79,742 against Shaheen’s 77,170.

In Chapainwabganj-2, BNP candidate Aminul Islam got 175,466 votes to defeat Ziaur Rahman of Awami League who polled 139,952.

In Chapainawabganj-3, Harunur Rashid of BNP (133,661) defeated Abdul Wadud of Awami League (85,938).

Earlier, voting in the election was held amid allegations of irregularities, including overnight stuffing of ballot boxes and capturing of polling stations, and sporadic violence in different parts of the country, leaving 16 people dead.

The voting in the capital was, however, almost peaceful as reported by UNB reporters.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)