Update May 22, 2016

Dhaka 10-49 am, 28-October, 2020

Anurag Thakur elected as BCCI president

Sumel Sarker

Anurag Thakur

Anurag Thakur elected as BCCI president

22 May 2016, Nirapad News: The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) secretary Anurag Thakur has been elected as the president in a special general meeting on Sunday (May 22).

He has been elected after Shashank Manohar stepped down from the post to take up the International Cricket Council (ICC) chairman’s job.

The 41-year-old, who is also a BJP Member of Parliament in the Lok Sabha , has got the backing of all the east zone members including Assam, Bengal, Tripura, Jharkhand and the National Cricket Club, Times of India reports this day.

Thakur, who resigned as the secretary of the board, got the signatures of all six east zone units in his BCCI president .al nomination form as he completed the formalities in presence of former India captain and CAB president Sourav Ganguly on Saturday.

Maharashtra Cricket Association (MCA) chief and business tycoon Ajay Shirke has also been nominated for the post of secretary by the newly-elected BCCI president.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)