Update August 2, 2015

Dhaka 1-07 am, 01-November, 2020

Auto rickshaw drivers-owners protest ban

Sumel Sarker

Auto rickshaw

Auto rickshaw drivers-owners protest ban

02 August 2015, Nirapad News: Auto rickshaw and three-wheeler owners, drivers and workers Sunday staged demonstrations and blockaded roads in different districts in protest of ban on their vehicles on highways.

In Comilla, 15 workers were injured in a clash with police during blockade on Dhaka-Chittagong highway in the morning. They also vandalized several vehicles. Police fired rubber bullets and tear shells to disperse them.

In Narayanganj, agitated auto rickshaw drivers blockaded Dhaka-Sylhet highway for two hours putting passengers on sufferings.

In Feni, 3-wheeler drivers, workers and owners locked into sporadic clashes with police and hurled brick-bats in the morning. Later police fired 4 rounds of rubber bullets to take the situation under control.

In Barisal, bus owners halted services on 15 routes as auto rickshaw drivers put barricade to their buses and they also demanded a solution to the ongoing chaos. Meanwhile, auto rickshaw workers brought out protest procession in Gauronodi.

In Gazipur, CNG-run auto rickshaw owners and drivers staged rallies and brought out procession blocking the highway.

In Pirojpur, auto rickshaw owners and workers formed human chain and brought out procession in the morning.

On July 27, in the wake of increasing fatal accidents, the government has banned auto-rickshaws and paddle-run vehicles from plying on highways across the country from August 1.

A notification to this effect has been issued by Road Transport and Highways Department on Monday afternoon.

But on August 1, defying the government ban, illegal, slow and locally- and foreign-made three-wheelers and CNG-run auto-rickshaws plied the highways across the country.

However on Sunday, Road Transport and Highways Department said that the government will not stand down from the decision of the ban.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)