Update December 22, 2015

Dhaka 2-14 am, 30-October, 2020

Bangladesh host Asia Cup from February 24

Sumel Sarker

asia cup8

Bangladesh host Asia Cup from February 24

22 December 2015, Nirapad News: For three consecutive times, Bangladesh will host Asia Cup to be held from February 24 to March 6 next year.

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) chief executive officer Nizam Uddin Chowdhury Sujan disclosed the matter to the media on Tuesday in city’s Mirpur area.

He said a total of five countries including India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka and host Bangladesh will participate in the match to ensure the place in the final round.

The qualifying round will be held on February 24 among the four countries. After that, another country will join for the final round.

The possible venues for the matches are Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur and Khan Shaheb Osman Ali Stadium in Fatulla.

Earlier, Asian Cricket Council decided to play the Asia Cup 2016 in T20 format as the upcoming T20 World Cup will be held soon in India.

Though, the previous 12 Asia Cup was played of 50-over.

However, keeping in mind the 2019 One-day World Cup, the Asia Cup in 2018 will be played of 50-over.

On February 19, United Arab Emirates, Afghanistan, Oman and Hong Kong will play in selection round to play in Asia Cup with other four teams.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)