Update January 12, 2015

Dhaka 11-30 am, 01-August, 2021

Bangladesh National Cricket team start training camp for World Cup today

Mirajul Moin Joy

Bangladesh World Cup squad

Bangladesh World Cup squad

The training camp of Bangladesh National Cricket team for the next month’s ICC Cricket World Cup to be held in Australia and New Zealand begins in the city today (Monday).

The national cricketers will go through strength & conditioning, skill training and indoor net practices in two sessions every day during the 10-day training camp at the Sahara-BCB National Cricket Academy, Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium and Mirpur Indoor nets.

Twelve cricketers of the 15-member final squad will join the training camp today (Monday) while the three others are not currently available.

World famed all rounder Shakib Al Hasan is now in Australia to play in the ongoing Big Bash while top order batsman Tamim Iqbal also in Australia where he underwent surgery and pacer Rubel Hossain is now in jail in connection with a rape case.

The Tigers will leave the capital for the Australian city of Brisbane on January 24 for their dream world cup after attending the team official photo session and press conference on January 22.

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza will lead the Bangladesh team to the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015 while Shakib Al Hasan retained as his deputy.

Placed in Pool A with Australia, Sri Lanka, England, New Zealand, Scotland and Afghanistan, Bangladesh will start their World Cup campaign taking on Afghanistan on February 18 at Manuka Oval in Canberra.

In the remaining group matches, the Tigers will face Australia on February 21 at the Gabba, Brisbane; Sri Lanka on February 26 at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Melbourne; Scotland on March 5 at Saxton Oval, Nelson; England on March 9 at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide; New Zealand on March 13 at Seddon Park, Hamilton.

On January 4, BCB president Nazmul Hasan Papon MP, at a press conference at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur, announced the 15-member final squad for the World Cup.

Bangladesh World Cup squad: Mashrafe Bin Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Soumya Sarkar, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Al-Amin Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Arafat Sunny and Taijul Islam.

Meanwhile, pacer Shafiul Islam was named as the 16th player.

Among the selected squad, six players-Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Tamim Iqbal, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah and Rubel Hossain-have the experiences of playing in the World Cup Cricket while the rest nine players are waiting for make debut in the World Cup.

Of the 15-man squad, Soumya Sarkar, Taijul Islam and Sabbir Rahman made their ODI debuts in the home series against Zimbabwe in November-December last.

Mashrafe Bin Mortaza, Taskin Ahmed, Al-Amin Hossain and Rubel Hossain were included in the squad as pace bowlers in addition to Soumya Sarkar.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)