Update January 24, 2015

Dhaka 4-52 am, 18-June, 2021

Bangladesh National Cricket team will leave for World Cup tonight

Sumel Sarker

Bangladesh Cricket Team

24 January 2015, Nirapad News: Bangladesh National Cricket team will leave for Brisbane, Australia on Saturday night with a target to reach the 2nd round of the ICC World Cup 2015 to be held in Australia and New Zealand from February 14 to March 29.

Opener Tamim Iqbal will join the team later as he will first fly to Melbourne on January 25 where he has to take an injection. Bangladesh vice-captain and world ace all rounder Shakib Al Hasan, who left the country on January 4, is now staying in Australia on completion of his BBL mission for Melbourne Renegades. He will join the team in Brisbane.

Bangladesh was placed in Pool-A with Australia, Sri Lanka, England, New Zealand, Scotland and Afghanistan in the world cricket.

Mashrafe-led Tigers will play two practice matches against Pakistan and Ireland at Blacktown Olympic Park Oval in Sydney on February 9 and 12 respectively before starting their World Cup mission.

Bangladesh Squad: Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan (vice-captain), Tamim Iqbal, Anamul Haque, Soumya Sarkar, Mominul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah, Nasir Hossain, Sabbir Rahman, Taskin Ahmed, Al-Amin Hossain, Rubel Hossain, Arafat Sunny and Taijul Islam.

Bangladesh will face Afghanistan in their opening match at Manuka Oval in Canberra on February 18, will play former world champion Australia on February 21 at the Brisbane Cricket Ground; Sri Lanka on February 26 at Melbourne Cricket Ground; Scotland on March 5 at Saxton Oval, Nelson; England on March 9 at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide and meet New Zealand on March 13 at Seddon Park.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)