Update December 8, 2015

Dhaka 12-24 pm, 27-October, 2020

Comilla Victorians to ensure last four berth as 1st team in BPL

Sumel Sarker

Comilla Victorians

Comilla Victorians to ensure last four berth as 1st team in BPL

08 December 2015,Nirapad News: A match-winning nock by Ahmed Shehzad saw Comilla Victorians as a first team to ensure last four berth of the BRB Cable Bangladesh Premier League (BPL) beating Barisal Bulls by seven wickets held on Monday at the Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur.

With the day’s win, Comilla Victorian maintained their domination in the points table with 12 points from eight matches while Barisal Bulls remained at their previous credit of 10 points playing the same number of outings.

Chasing a winning target of 106 runs set by Barisal Bulls, Comilla Victorian hardly had to sweat as they easily reached home in 17.3 overs with seven wickets in hand.

Thanks to first down Ahmed Shehzad’s match-winning half century that helped Comilla easily to reach their destination, after Comilla lost both their openers early as Imrul Kayes and Liton Das both departed without disturbing the scoreboard.

The Pakistani batsman Shehzad played an impressive knock of 76 runs off 63 balls laced with 10 boundaries and one over boundary and completed the chase with Ashar Zaidi who was unbeaten with 20 runs.

Al-Amin Hossain, Sajedul Islam and Taijul Islam took one wicket each giving away 11, 18 and 32 runs respectively.

Ahmed Shehzad of Comilla Victorians was named the player of the match.

Earlier, a disciplined bowling attack by the Comilla Victorians bowlers restricted Barisal Bulls in a small total of 105 for 6 from their allotted 20 overs, after they were forced to bat first by the Comilla Victorians.

Skipper Mahmudullha top scored with 26 runs followed by Rony Talukder (19) and Sabbir Rahman (17).

Seekkuge Prasanna and Evine Lewis (15) were the other notable scorers for Barisal Bulls.

Ashar Zaidi was the most successful bowler for Victorians taking two wickets for 12 runs.

Brief score:

Barisal Bulls – 105 for 6 in 20 overs, Mahmudullah 26, Rony 19, Sabbir 17, Ashar Zaidi 2/12.

Comilla Victorians – 106 for 3 in 17.3 overs, Shehzad 76 (batting), Zaidi 20 (batting), Al-Amin 1/11, Sajedul 1/18 and Taijul 1/32.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)