Update February 21, 2016

Dhaka 7-45 pm, 15-May, 2021

DUJ president Shaban, gen secy Sohel

Sumel Sarker

shaban sohel

DUJ president Shaban, gen secy Sohel

21 February 2016, Nirapad News: Shaban Mahmud was elected as president of Dhaka Union of Journalists (DUJ) and Sohel Haider Chowdhury was elected as general secretary on Saturday (February 20).

The DUJ election conducting committee announced the names of winners at National Press Club around 9:15pm.

Earlier, counting of voting started around 6:45pm in presence of polls conducting committee chairman Muhammad Shafiqur Rahman.

The voting of elections ended at National Press Club in Dhaka in the afternoon. With festive mood, the voting started at 9:00am and continued till 5:30pm without break.

Alongside Shaban Mahmud, Abu Jafar Surjo, Abul Kalam, Kuddus Afrad, Dr Utpal Kumar Sarker and Salam Mahmud contested for the president post.

The contestants for general secretary posts were Sohel Haider Chowdhury, Abdul Majid, MA Quddus, Khandaker Mozammel Haque, Mehedi Hasan, Rahman Mustafiz and Sazzad Alam Khan Topu.

A total of 86 candidates under five panels participated in the DUJ polls this year.

The press club area was decorated with posters, banners and festoons centering the election where 86 candidates from five panels, including independent candidates, vying in the polls.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)