Update March 25, 2015

Dhaka 12-30 pm, 27-February, 2021

Eight get Independence Award 2015

Sumel Sarker


Eight get Independence Award 2015

25 March 2015, Nirapad News: Eight eminent personalities have received the Independence Award-2015 for their glorious and outstanding contributions at the national level.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has handed over the award to the recipients as chief guest at the capital’s Osmany Memorial Auditorium on Wednesday morning.

The awardees are Commandant Manik Chowdhury (posthumously), Mamun Mahmud (posthumously), former finance minister Shah ASM Kibria (posthumously), Prof Mozaffar Ahmed, Prof Anisuzzaman, renowned film actor Abdur Razzak for culture, renowned agricultural researcher and former director general of Bangladesh Agricultural Research Institute Dr Mohammad Hossain Mandol and renowned journalist Santosh Gupta (posthumously) for his contribution to journalism.

The award is traditionally presented on the eve of Independence day in Bangladesh. The nation is set to celebrate the 45th Independence Day on Thursday.

Independence Award, commonly known as Swadhinata Padak, is the highest state award given by the government of Bangladesh.

Introduced in 1977, this award is bestowed upon Bangladeshi citizens or organisations in recognition of substantial contribution to one of many fields, including the War of Liberation, the language movement, education, literature, journalism, public service, science and technology, medical science, social science, song, games and sports, fine arts, rural development, and other areas.

Each awarded receives a gold medal, a certificate of honour, and a sum of cash.

The amount of the cash reward was originally Tk 20,000,but was subsequently increased to Tk 100,000 in 2004.

A cabinet committee on national awards prepares the list of each year’s nominees and forwards the list to the head of the government for final approval.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)