Update February 10, 2015

Dhaka 1-09 pm, 05-March, 2021

Government nominates 10 new judges to the High Court

Sumel Sarker

Bangladesh Supreme Court

Bangladesh Supreme Court

10 February 2015, Nirapad News: The government has appointed 10 new judges to the High Court. Those recruited include three district judges SM Mujibur Rahman, Md Amir Hossain and Md Farid Ahmed Shibli.

Mujibur Rahman judged the sensational 10-truck arms haul in Chittagong. Farid Ahmed, who served as secretary to Bangladesh Judicial Service Commission, was appointed as Supreme Court registrar only this month.

Razik-Al-Jalil, Bhishmadev Chakrabortty, Md Salim, Md Shohrowardi were Deputy Attorney Generals.

Three Supreme Court lawyers, too, will judge cases at the High Court. They are Khijir Ahmed Choudhury, Jyotirmoy Narayan Deb Choudhury and Md Iqbal Kabir Liton. Liton argued cases for the Bangladesh Environment Lawyers’ Association.

There are altogether 87 judges at the High Court but the job of two of them is yet to be regularized. The Appellate Division has seven judges including the chief justice.

Monday’s appointment of judges is the first of the incumbent government that took office last year.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)