Update December 10, 2018

Dhaka 10-27 am, 15-August, 2020

HC issues contempt rule against CEC, 5 others

Mirajul Moin Joy

The High Court on Monday issued a contempt of court rule against the chief election commissioner, four commissioners and the election commission secretary for declaring Oikyaboddha Nagorik Andolon invalid for polls and rejecting the nomination papers of the party’s candidates disobeying the court order, reports UNB.

They have been asked to respond to the rule within four weeks.

Supreme Court lawyer Manzil Morshed stood for the petitioner.

A bench of justice Sheikh Hassan Arif and justice Razik-Al-Jalil also issued a rule seeking explanation as to why the decision of cancelling registration of Oikyaboddha Nagorik Andolon should not be declared illegal after hearing a writ petition filed by party president Kazi Faruk and general secretary Abdus Samad.

On 6 December, a legal notice was served on CEC KM Nurul Huda, MahabubTalukder, Md Rafiqul Islam, Kabita Khanom and Shahadat Hossain Chowdhury.

Oikyaboddha Nagorik Andolon secured registration from the EC on 16 November, 2018.

On 16 October, the HC stayed the election commission’s letter cancelling the registration of Oikyaboddha Nagorik Andolon.

On 4 October this year, the EC cancelled the registration of the party.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)