Update February 15, 2015

Dhaka 9-32 am, 01-March, 2021

India beats Pakistan by 76 runs for record sixth time in World Cup

Mirajul Moin Joy

India's Virat Kohli celebrates catching out Shahid Afridi in the outfield. (Getty Images: Morne de Klerk)

India’s Virat Kohli celebrates catching out Shahid Afridi in the outfield. (Getty Images: Morne de Klerk)

Nirapad News : India won against long-time rival Pakistan by 76 runs, in their opening match in the cricket World Cup at the Adelaide Oval on Sunday.

Pakistan scored 224 chasing India’s 300, as Sohail Khan fell to a Mohit Sharma ball — a catch by Umesh Yadav.

Pakistan skipper Misbah-ul-Haq was caught at 76 by Ajinkya Rahane — another wicket for Mohammed Shami. Yasir Shah was caught by Umesh Yadav, giving Mohit Sharma his first wicket.

Shahid Afridi was caught by Virat Kohli off a ball from Mohammed Shami, making it the bowler’s fourth wicket. Wahab Riaz fell almost immediately to another Shami ball, caught behind by Indian skipper MS Dhoni.

Umar Akmal was given out after a review by Dhoni. This makes Pakistan’s second duck after Sohaib Maqsood.

Ahmed Shehzad was caught by Ravindra Jadeja off a ball from seamer Yadav, as he reached 47 runs off 73 balls. Two wickets fell almost back-to-back as Maqsood was out for a duck to a catch by Suresh Raina.

Haris Sohail was caught at the slip by Raina, as the team reached 82 runs off 19 overs. Opener Younis Khan was caught by skipper M.S. Dhoni off a ball by Mohammed Shami, at 6 runs.

Earlier, Virat Kohli hit a strokeful century to power India to 300 for seven against Pakistan. Kohli is the first Indian batsman to hit a ton against Pakistan in a World Cup match.

Electing to bat, India rode on a 129-run second-wicket partnership between Kohli (107) and Dhawan (73) before pacer Sohail Khan (5-55) checked the surge.

India skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni won the toss on Sunday and elected to bat first in the World Cup Pool B opener against archrival Pakistan.

Defending champion India has won all five times the two teams have met in the World Cup dating back to 1992, and won the toss on four of those previous occasions.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)