Update March 15, 2016

Dhaka 1-22 am, 24-January, 2021

India, New Zealand likely XI

Sumel Sarker

India vs newzeland

India, New Zealand likely XI

15 March 2016, Nirapad News: All eyes will be on Virat Kohli and Martin Guptill, as the hosts India all set to clash against the latest heartthrobs New Zealand in their opening match of the ICC World T20 2016 at the Vidarbha Cricket Association (VCA) Stadium in Nagpur tonight (Tuesday, March 15). The match will start at 7.30pm local, 8.00pm BdST.

The 2007 Champions, India go into the Super 10 Group 2 clash against the Kiwis with their tails up as the number one ranked team in the world. The Black Caps, on the other hand, will mark the passing of Martin Crowe with black armbands and a minute’s applause.

40,000 Indian fans will pack the stadium demanding a first-up win for the hosts. However many believe it could be vital in turning the odds in the Black Caps’ favour as well. New Zealand have never beaten by India in their four T20Is so far.

The only reason there may be a change made to India’s Asia Cup-winning XI is if Mohammed Shami has impressed the management enough to squeeze in ahead of Ashish Nehra.

India (Likely XI)
1 Shikhar Dhawan
2 Rohit Sharma
3 Virat Kohli
4 Suresh Raina
5 Yuvraj Singh
6 Hardik Pandya
7 MS Dhoni (capt and wk)
8 Ravindra Jadeja
9 R Ashwin
10 Jasprit Bumrah
11 Ashish Nehra / Mohammed Shami

New Zealand might need to pick between Mitchell Santner and Nathan McCullum as the lead spinner. The other toss up might be between Mitchell McClenaghan, who has been part of an IPL-winning Mumbai Indians team, and Adam Milne.

New Zealand (Playing XI)
1 Martin Guptill
2 Kane Williamson (capt)
3 Colin Munro
4 Ross Taylor
5 Corey Anderson
6 Grant Elliott
7 Luke Ronchi (wk)
8 Mitchell Santner / Nathan McCullum
9 Tim Southee
10 Trent Boult
11 Mitchell McClenaghan / Adan Milne

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)