Update December 19, 2015

Dhaka 11-22 pm, 28-October, 2020

Indian Sahitya Academy Awards for 2015 announced

Sumel Sarker

Sahitya Akademi

Indian Sahitya Academy Awards for 2015 announced

19 December 2015, Nirapad News: Novelist Cyrus Mistry and poet Ramdarash Mishra were among the winners of the Indian Sahitya Akademi award (2015) announced here today

Six books of short stories, six of poetry, four novels, two books each of essays, criticism, and plays and one of memoirs have won Sahitya Akademi awards, an official release said here.

The awards were recommended by distinguished jury members representing 23 Indian languages and approved by the executive board of the Akademi.

The poets honoured are Brajendra Kumar Brahma in Bodo, Dhian Singh in Dogri, Ramdarash Mishra in Hindi, K.V. Tirumalesh in Kannada, Kshetri Rajan in Manipuri and Ram Shankar Awasthi in Sanskrit.

Six writers awarded for their short stories are Kula Saikia in Assamese, Man Mohan Jha in Maithili, Gupta Pradhan in Nepali, Bibhuti Pattanaik in Odia, Maya Rahi in Sindhi and Volga in Telugu.

“Samman” to writer and scholar Shrikant Bahulkar has also been announced. The award in Bengali will be announced later. The award will be presented to the writers at a function on February 16 next year.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)