Update May 26, 2020

Dhaka 11-45 pm, 04-July, 2020

Japan includes Bangladesh in entry ban

Mirajul Moin Joy

Japan has tightened border control and widened ban on entry of people from countries, including Bangladesh, India and Pakistan, to prevent the spread of coronavirus.

A notice on the website of Japan’s foreign ministry posted on Monday, said the embargo will come into effect from Wednesday.

The newly-included countries are – Afghanistan, Argentina, Bangladesh, El Salvador, Ghana, Guinea, India, Kyrgyz, Pakistan, South Africa, and Tajikistan.

“For the time being, foreign nationals categorised below are denied permission to enter Japan as ones who fall under the Article 5, paragraph (1), item (xiv) of Immigration Control and Refugee Recognition Act, unless exceptional circumstances are found,” the notice said.

Japan said the countries have newly been added to the list based on the decision made of its National Security Council on 25 May.

“Foreigners who have stayed in these countries within 14 days prior to the application for landing will be denied landing into Japan. The measure is effective from 00:00am (JST) on 27 May,” the notice said.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)