Update December 17, 2018

Dhaka 3-42 pm, 11-August, 2020

Jatiya Oikyafront announces manifesto with 14 pledges

Mirajul Moin Joy

Jatiya Oikyafront today declared its manifesto with a list of 14 electoral pledges ahead of the 11th parliamentary election.

Oikyafront Convener and Gano Forum President Dr Kamal Hossain gave an initial address before the alliance’s leader and Nagorik Oikya Convener Mahmudur Rahman Manna read out the 35-point manifesto.

The pledges included bringing a balance of power between the president and the prime minister, forging national unity, ensuring freedom of expression and safety of citizens, stopping extra-judicial killing.

In his address, Kamal said, “It is people’s manifesto. It is prepared for the welfare of the people and on basis of public opinion.”

Reading out the manifesto, Manna said if the Oikyafront is voted to power through the election, they will run the government for the people’s welfare.

Their prime principles will be consensus, inclusion of all and keeping free from all sorts of vengeance, he added.

Oikyafront leaders including BNP Secretary Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir, Krishak Sramik Janata League President Kader Siddique and Gonoshasthaya Kendra founder Zafrullah Chowdhury were present, among others.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)