Update December 3, 2015

Dhaka 1-43 pm, 15-May, 2021

KSJL to boycott municipal polls

Sumel Sarker

Quader Siddeque

KSJL to boycott municipal polls

03 November 2015, Nirapade News: Krishak Sramik Janata League (KSJL) on Wednesday announced to boycott the December-30 elections to 235 municipalities as the party thinks a fair election is not possible under the current Election Commission (EC).

In a statement, party general secretary Habibur Rahman said the decision was taken at an emergency meeting of the party’s central committee in the evening.

The party urged the country’s people to boycott the polls.

KSJL alleged that the Commission exposed its autocratic attitude by bringing changes in election rules regarding municipalities without any consultation with political parities and paying heed to the political parties’ demand for deferment of the elections.

On November 24, Chief Election Commissioner Kazi Rakibuddin Ahmad announced the election schedule for 234 municipalities out of the country’s 323 fixing the voting day on December 30. Subsequently, the election schedule was announced for two more municipalities — Sreepur of Gazipur and Naohata of Rajshahi.

Later, election to Mongla municipality of Bagerhat was postponed following the court’s order.

The municipal elections will partly be held under party line for the first time as Parliament passed the Local Government (Municipality) (Amendment) Bill 2015 on November 19, paving the path for mayoral candidates to contest the elections with party symbols.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)