Update May 28, 2015

Dhaka 6-20 am, 18-June, 2021

National Press Club new President Shafiqur, GS Kamrul

Sumel Sarker

Press Club

National Press Club new President Shafiqur, GS Kamrul

28 May 2015, Nirapad News: A new managing committee of National Press Club has been formed making Mohammad Shafiqur Rahman as its president and Kamrul Islam Chowdhury as general secretary.

The committee for 2015-16 was formed at a biennial annual general meeting held at the press club auditorium on Thursday afternoon.

Journalists, loyal to Bangladesh Nationalist Party (BNP) and ruling Awami League (AL), announced a 17-member committee in the meeting.

The announcement came nearly six months after expiration of the previous committee of the press club.

The negotiation meeting was held keeping aside the journalists, who are loyal to Jamaat-e-Islami, the major ally of BNP-led 20 party, and apparently dominated the preceding committee.

However, other office-bearers of the committee are Monjurul Ahsan Bulbul (senior vice president), Amirul Islam Kagji (vice president), Ashraf Ali (joint-secretary), Illias Khan (joint secretary) and Katrtik Chatterjee.

Journalists Amaullah Kabir, Khandakar Monirul Alam, Azizul Islam Bhuyan, Siful Alam, Mollah Jalal, Shymol Dutta, Shamsuddin Ahmed Charu, Sardar Farid Ahmed, Shamsul Haque Durrani and Hasan Arefin were made the members of the committee.

Earlier in the morning, pro-BNP and pro-AL senior journalists held the negotiation meeting where Iqbal Sobhan Chowdhury, Amanullah Kabir, and Khandakar Monurul Islam, among others, attended.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)