Update January 3, 2019

Dhaka 6-26 am, 14-August, 2020

Oikya Front won’t take oath: Fakhrul

Mirajul Moin Joy

BNP secretary general Mirza Fakhrul Islam Alamgir on Thursday said their elected members of parliament (MPs) would not take oath, reports UNB.

“We aren’t taking oath as we have rejected the polls results,” he told newsmen after a meeting at the BNP chairperson’s Gulshan office on Thursday.

Fakhrul, also an Oikya Front leader, said all the Jatiya Oikya Front candidates who contested the 11th parliamentary election with ‘Sheaf of Paddy’ symbol will file cases with the election tribunal in their respective seats with the allegations of vote fraud.

The BNP leader said,” Our every candidate will file case with election tribunal in their respective seats rejecting the election results and bringing allegations of vote fraud.”

A 15-member delegation, led by Mirza Fakhrul, on Thursday went to the EC to submit a memorandum demanding a fresh election under a non-party administration cancelling the 30 December election.

Mirza Fakhrul on Wednesday sent a letter to the EC informing it that all the Oikya Front candidates will simultaneously go to the commission to submit a memorandum with documents of election irregularities at 3pm.

In Sunday’s parliamentary elections, BNP bagged only five seats while its alliance partner Gano Forum two.

At a meeting on Monday evening, Jatiya Oikya Front senior leaders turned down the election results and decided to submit a memorandum to the election commission demanding reelection.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)