Update March 26, 2015

Dhaka 1-34 am, 23-January, 2021

PM pays homage to Bangabandhu on Independence Day

Sumel Sarker


PM pays homage to Bangabandhu on Independence Day

26 March 2015, Nirapad News: Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina this morning paid rich tributes to Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman on the occasion of the 45th Independence and National Day.

On her return from the National Memorial at Savar, she paid the homage to the Father of the Nation by placing a wreath at his portrait in front of Bangabandhu Memorial Museum at Dhanmondi in the capital.

After placing the wreath, she stood in solemn silence for some time as a mark of profound respect to the memory of Bangabandhu, the architect of the independence. Flanked by central leaders of the party, Sheikh Hasina, also the president of Bangladesh Awami League, laid another wreath at the portrait of Bangabandhu on behalf of her party.

Awami League Advisory Council members Amir Hossain Amu, Tofail Ahmed, Suranjit Sengupta, Dr Mohiuddin Khan Alamgir and Advocate Yusuf Hossain Humayun, Presidium members Begum Matia Chowdhury, Advocate Sahara Khatun and Satish Chandra Roy, Shipping Minister Shajahan Khan and Food Minister Advocate Qamrul Islam were present on the occasion.

Besides, Dr Dipu Moni, Dr Hasan Mahmud, Advocate Abdul Matin Khasru, Khalid Mahmood Chowdhury, Advocate Afzal Hussain and other central leaders of the party were present.

Meanwhile, Speaker Dr Shirin Sharmin Chaudhury also paid tributes to the Father of Nation by placing a wreath at the portrait of Bangabandhu at Dhanmondi.

The leaders and workers of Awami League’s associate bodies, including Dhaka city Awami League, Awami Jubo League, Chhatra League, Mahila Awami League, Sramik League, Krishak League, Jubo Mohila League and Swechchasebok League, as well as socio-cultural organizations also paid homage to Bangabandhu by placing wreaths at his portrait on the occasion.

Later, the Prime Minister released a commemorative postage stamp, a first day cover and a data card at her official Ganobhaban residence. A special cancelor was used on the occasion.

Bangladesh Post Office issued the stamp and the first day cover of Taka 10 and the data card of Taka 5 marking the 45th Independence and National Day.

PM’s Principal Secretary Md Abdul Kalam Azad, PMO Secretary Suraiya Begum, Secretary of the Ministry of Post and Telecommunications Faizur Rahman Chowdhury, PM’s Press Secretary AKM Shameem Chowdhuri and the director general of Bangladesh Post Office were present.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)