Update February 19, 2015

Dhaka 2-26 am, 25-February, 2021

Prime Minister hands over Ekushey Padak to 15 eminent personalities

Sumel Sarker

Ekushey podok

PM hands over Ekushey Padak 2014 to 15 personalities

19 February 2015, Nirapad News: Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has handed over Ekushey Padak-2015 to 15 eminent persons of the country for their glorious contribution to their respective fields.

She formally handed over the Ekushey Padak at a function at Osmani Memorial Auditorium Ekushey Padak in the capital on Thursday morning.

The Ekushey Padak recipients are Piaru Sardar for Language Movement (posthumous), Professor M Mujibur Rahman Devdas for the War of Independence, Professor Dwijen Sharma for language and literature, Muhammad Nurul Huda for language and literature, Abdur Rahman Boyati for art and culture (posthumous), SA Abul Hayat for art and culture, ATM Shamsuzzaman for art and culture, Professor MA Mannan for education, Sanat Kumar Saha for education, Abul Kalam Mohammad Zakaria for research, Kamal Lohani for journalism, Faridur Reza Sagar for mass media, Jharna Dhara Chowdhury for social service, Srimat Satyapriyo Mohathero for social service and Professor Dr Arup Ratan Chowdhury for social service.

The each Padak (award) carries a cheque for Taka one lakh, a crest and citation.

Cultural Affairs Minister Asaduzzaman Noor presided over the Ekushey Padak distribution function, organized by the Ministry of Cultural Affairs.

Cultural Affairs Secretary Dr Ranjit Kumar Biswas delivered the welcome address, while Cabinet Secretary Md Musharraf Hussain Bhuiyan conducted the function and read out the citation of the Ekushey Padak recipients with their brief life sketch.

Ministers, advisers to the Prime Minister, the Leader of the Opposition in Parliament Cabinet Secretary, judges, parliament members, Jatiya Party Chairman Hussain Muhammad Ershad, chiefs of three services, diplomats, vice-chancellors of different universities and high civil and military officials were present on the occasion.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)