Update December 14, 2015

Dhaka 11-30 am, 23-October, 2020

Sheikh Ahmad Hossain Mirza elected Tungipara mayor

Sumel Sarker

awami league

Sheikh Ahmad Hossain Mirza elected Tungipara mayor

14 December 2015, Nirapad News: Awami League candidate Sheikh Ahmad Hossain Mirza was unofficially elected mayor of Tungipara pourasava unopposed as the nomination paper of the independent contender was cancelled during scrutiny.

Returning officer of Tungipara pourasava M Wahiduzzaman said Awami League nominated Sheikh Ahmad Hossain Mirza was the only valid candidate of the December 30 municipality polls.

“We would give formal announcement tomorrow,” he said.

Apart from this, three candidates would contest for mayoral position of Gopalganj pourasava.

Awami League nominated Kazi Liaqot Ali Liku for contesting the mayoral position, while Towfiqul Islam submitted his nomination paper from BNP.

Besides, Sheikh Mushfiqur Rahman Liton also decided to contest the poll as an independent candidate of Gopalganj pourasava.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)