Update October 8, 2015

Dhaka 5-29 am, 17-May, 2021

Sheikh Kamal International Club Cup to begin October 20

Sumel Sarker


Sheikh Kamal International Club Cup to begin October 20

8 October 2015, Nirapad News: The Sheikh Kamal International Club Cup tournament will begin on October 20 at the MA Aziz Stadium in Chittagong.

Chittagong Abahani Limited will organise the prestigious international meet for the first of its kind in the port city.

A total of eight clubs including five foreign clubs from India, Pakistan, Afghanistan and Sri Lanka and three local clubs— Abahani Limited, Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited and Chittagong Abahani Limited— will compete in the 11-day meet.

Before start of the tournament, a fabulous inaugural ceremony will be held on October 17. The tournament got recognition as AFC International Tier-2.

Addressing at a press conference at the Bangladesh Football Federation conference room on Wednesday, tournament committee’s member secretary Shamsul Haque chowdhury said Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina has given her kind consent to be a main patron of the tournament and they have completed all the preparation to make the tournament a success.

When asked about Sheikh Jamal Dhanmondi Club Limited’s absent in the tournament, he said they have invited Sheikh Jamal and formally communicated with them, but they expressed their inability to take part in the tournament.

The champions of the tournament will receive U$ 25,000 while the runners-up will have U$ 10,000 as prize money. Besides, the each participating team will get Taka five lakh as participation money. The draw of the tournament will be held on Monday through a formal ceremony.

President of Chittagong Abahani Limited and tournament committee vice president MA Latif, BFF vice president Badal Roy, Chittagong District Sports Association additional general secretary Syed Shahab Uddin Shamim and tournament coordinator Shakil Mahmud Chowdhury were also present, among others, on the occasion.

Participating clubs:

Abahani Limited (Bangladesh), Mohammedan Sporting Club Limited (Bangladesh), Chittagong Abahani Limited (Bangladesh), De Spingjhar Bazan Club (Afghanistan), Kingfisher East Bengal (India), Mohammedan Sporting Club (India), Karachi Electric Football Club (Pakistan) and Solid FC (Sri Lanka).

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)