Update November 9, 2015

Dhaka 11-43 pm, 09-August, 2020

Srinivasan removed as ICC Chairman

Sumel Sarker


Srinivasan removed as ICC Chairman

09 November 2015, Nirapad News: On expected lines, N. Srinivasan has been removed as the chairman of the International Cricket Council. The decision to drop him was taken at the Board of Control for Cricket in India’s Annual General Meeting in Mumbai on Monday.

The BCCI will now recommend this change to ICC. (N. Srinivasan’s Hours as ICC Chairman Numbered as BCCI Hold AGM), reports the NDTV.

Srinivasan was elected for a two-year term. His tenure will be completed by current BCCI president Shashank Manohar, who will now head the world body’s Executive Committee till June 2016. As per protocol, respective Boards name a representative on the Ex-Co.

The BCCI will propose former ICC president Sharad Pawar’s name as an alternative director in the executive committee.

In recent times, Srinivasan’s control over cricket administration had increasingly become weaker after the Supreme Court charged him for conflict of interest.

With his exit as ICC chairman, Srinivasan is now left with just one position as head of a cricket body. He is still the president of Tamil Nadu Cricket Association. Srinivasan’s company India Cements had owned tainted IPL franchise Chennai Super Kings.

The Mahendra Singh Dhoni-led team is now suspended for two years by a Supreme Court appointed committee. Srinivasan’s son-in-law Gurunath Meiyappan, a team owner of Chennai Super Kings, was indicted for betting and sharing team information. Meiyappan has been banned for life from cricket activities.

The heat on Srinivasan increased after the Lodha committee suspended Chennai Super Kings and Rajasthan Royals. The removal of Sundar Raman as IPL COO last week was a strong indication that Srinivasan would be dropped from his ICC chair. Sundar had worked closely with Srinivasan, who controlled Indian cricket from 2008.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)