Update February 18, 2015

Dhaka 2-50 pm, 07-March, 2021

Tigers in trouble

Sumel Sarker

'Pressure is totally on Bangladesh'

‘Pressure is totally on Bangladesh’

18 February 2015, Nirapad News: Bangladesh were 185 for four wickets in 38 overs against Afghanistan in their Pool A opener of the 2015 Cricket World Cup on Wednesday. Brilliant Afghanistan bowlers Mirwais Ashraf took the wickets in 6.4 overs giving away only 14 runs. Bangladesh lost Anamul Haque and Tamim Iqbal to fierce bowling by Ashraf and Shapoor. The Tigers lost the wickets of both their openers after a slow start. Anamul Haque (29) was trapped leg-before by Mirwais Ashraf. Wicketkeeper Afsar Zazai took a brilliant catch off Ashraf to send back Tamim (19 off 42 balls). Bangladesh captain Mashrafe bin Mortaza won the toss and elected to bat. In their pitch report, former Pakistan captain Ramiz Raza and former Sri Lanka all-rounder Russell Arnold have said it is a batting track and 300 can surely be scored, and chasing it is quite possible, too. ‘The first match is very important. Hopefully, we’ll do well,” said Bangladesh skipper Mortaza during the toss. “Looks like a good track. We can put up a good total,” said Mashrafe after deciding to bat. This is Afghanistan’s first World Cup match as they become the 13th Associate Nation to make their debut at the tournament, while Bangladesh have opened their fifth campaign. Bangladesh have picked eight batsmen by including Soumya Sarkar with Shakib Al Hasan being their one specialist spinner. Afghanistan will go with the full experience of Nawroz Mangal, Asghar Stanikzai and Najibullah Zadran in the middle order. This is only the fifth ODI to be played at this ground, which can hold a crowd of 13,000. A sizable Bangladeshi contingent has already descended on the Australian capital.

Bangladesh 1 Anamul Haque, 2 Tamim Iqbal, 3 Mominul Haque, 4 Soumya Sarkar, 5 Mahmudullah, 6 Shakib Al Hasan, 7 Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), 8 Sabbir Rahman, 9 Mashrafe Mortaza (capt), 10 Taskin Ahmed, 11 Rubel Hossain

Afghanistan 1 Javed Ahmadi, 2 Afsar Zazai (wk), 3 Nawroz Mangal, 4 Asghar Stanikzai, 5 Najibullah Zadran, 6 Samiullah Shenwari, 7 Mohammad Nabi (capt), 8 Mirwais Ashraf, 9 Aftab Alam, 10 Hamid Hassan, 11 Shapoor Zadran.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)