Update May 30, 2020

Dhaka 10-56 pm, 04-August, 2020

Trains to run from Sunday; tickets to be available online only

Mirajul Moin Joy

Eight pairs of trains will start running on different routes from Sunday after suspension of the services for over two months following coronavirus outbreak.

Railways Minister Md Nurul Islam Sujan confirmed this while briefing reproters at Rail Bhaban in the capital.

Health guidelines must be maintained during train journey, he said adding that 50 percent tickets against the total seats will be sold to maintain distance among the passengers.

The Minister also said that passengers will have to maintain their own safety and follow some rules while traveling by trains.

Passengers can purchase tickets online days ahead of their travel while no tickets will be available at counters, he said.

Passengers must wear face masks while entering the rail stations and traveling by trains and they have to use designated doors for getting on and off the trains, the Minister said.

For health safety, no food will be provided inside the trains, and passengers will have to reach stations one hour ahead of their journey for measuring their body temperatures.

No trains will make stoppage at the Dhaka Airport, Joydevpur and Narsingdi, he added.

Suborno Express and Sonar Bangla Express trains will start running on Chattogram-Dhaka-Chattogram route from Sunday while Kalni Express on Sylhet-Dhaka-Sylhet, Panchagarh Express on Bir Panchagar-Dhaka-Panchagar, Banalata Express on Chapainawabgnj-Dhaka-Chapainawabganj, Lalmoni Express on Lalmonirhat-Dhaka-Lalmonirhat, Udayan/Paharika Express on Chattogram-Sylhet-Chattogram, and Chitra Express on Khulna-Dhaka-Khulna routes.

Later from June 3 (Wednesday), eleven more pairs of trains will run on other routes, Minister added.

Teesta Express on Dhaka-Dewanganj-Dhaka, Benapole Express on Benapole-Dhaka-Benapole, Nilsagor Express on Chilahati-Dhaka-Chilahati, Rupsha Express on Khulna-Chilahati, Kopotakkho Express on Khulna-Rajshahi-Khulna, Madhumati Express on Rajshahi-Goalandaghat-Rajshahi, Meghna Express on Chandpur-Chattogram-Chandpur, Kishoreganj Express on Dhaka-Kishoreganj-Dhaka, Upakul Expess on Noakhali-Dhaka-Noakhali, Brahmaputra Express on Dewanganj Bazar-Dhaka-Dewanganj Bazar and Kurigram Express on Kurigram-Dhaka-Kurigram routes.

The government on Thursday issued a gazette notification allowing limited operation of public transport and offices from May 31 to June 15 amid the coronavirus outbreak.

It said public transports – buses, trains and vessels – will have to maintain health guidelines.

All government, semi-government and autonomous offices will resume under self-management but ailing staff and pregnant women have been asked to refrain from joining work, the notification said.

Visitor's Comment: ( The authorities are in no condition responsible for any comments of the reader)