19 C
Saturday, December 10, 2022

Communal evil forces and fake freedom fighters to be identified: Quader

- Advertisement -spot_img

Road Transport and Bridges Minister Obaidul Quader on Friday said that communal evil forces and the fake freedom fighters are equally harmful to the country and they have to be identified.

“Fake freedom fighters are no less harmful than the communal evil forces …so, we have to identify and prevent them, and it is our commitment on the Independence Day,” he said.

Quader also general secretary of the ruling Awami League, told the journalists after paying homage to the martyrs’ of Independence along with other ruling party leaders at the national memorial in Savar marking the Independence Day.

Regarding the declaration of Independence on March 26, 1971, the ruling party leader said only Bangabandhu had the mandate for proclamation of Independence, adding that “actually no others had any right to proclaim the independence of the country.”

He said, “The readers of proclamation of independence may be more than one, but the real announcer is only one. Bangabandhu, who was elected the majority party leader through the election, got the mandate for proclaiming the independence,” he added. “No one had such right to proclaim independence,” the minister explained.

People participated in the liberation war under the leadership of Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman and won the victory on December 16, 1971, Quader told the journalists.

Later, the minister paid tribute to the portrait of Father of the Nation Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujibur Rahman at city’s Dhanmondi road no-32.

Awami League Presidium members Begum Matia Chowdhury, Dr Abdur Razzaque, Advocate Jahangir Kabir Nanak and Abdur Rahman, Joint General Secretary and Information and Broadcasting Minister Dr Hasan Mahmud, Joint General Secretaries Mahbub ul Alam Hanif, Dr Dipu Moni and AFM Bahauddin Nasim, Organizing secretaries Ahmad Hossen, Advocate Afzal Hossen and SM Kamal Hossen, Liberation War Affairs Secretary Mrinal Kanti Das, Relief and Social Welfare Secretary Sujit Roy Nandi, Cultural Affairs Secretary Ashim Kumar Ukil, Office Secretary Barrister Biplob Barua and Deputy Office Secretary Sayem Khan, among others, were present during this time.

- Advertisement -spot_img
More from this section