31 C
Wednesday, August 17, 2022

27 govt officials booked by ACC for embezzling Tk 10.40cr

- Advertisement -spot_img

As many as 27 government employees have been booked by the Anti-Corruption Commission (ACC) for allegedly embezzling over Tk 10.40 crore by generating fake vouchers.

The case was lodged against the 27 officials, including three sub-inspectors (SI), on a complaint from the ACC’s assistant director of the Jessore integrated district office, Mahfuz Iqbal, reports UNB.

The accused in the case are Satkhira Debhata Police Station SI Hasina Khatun, SI Md Sabur Alam Khan, Jessore Police Line SI Md Mahabub Alam, Magura Police Line retired SI Saifur Islam and former traffic SI Md Abdul Hai, and retired ASIs Md Atiyar Rahman and Shah Alam Gazi.

Others booked in the case include Magura District Police Line accountant Sharifuzzaman, Magura District accounting and finance officer GM Zillur Rahman, finance officers Saiful Islam and Sarkar Rafiqul Islam, and auditors of the same office — Ajmal Hossain, Abdul Latif Mia, Fazlur Shahid and Sheikh Abdus Salam.

Magura District Police Line constables Gazi Mashiur Rahman, Firoz Hossain, Shipon Mridha, Taslima Khatun and Halima, retired constable Krishnapad Biswas, Akbar Ali and Abul Kashem, Narail resident Azmal Munsi, Magura resident Rokaiya Yasmin Bichitra and senior principal officer of Sonali Bank Wazed Ali, have also been named in FIR.

According to the case details, the so-called GPF, lamp grant, deposit against supplies and work bill from the Magura police chief’s office was not sent to the Magura District Accounts Office. But the accused officials embezzled over Tk 9 crore by issuing 81 account payable checks in the name of nine people.

In the same manner, the six retired policemen of Magura District Police Atiyar Rahman, Shah Alam Gazi, Khan Md. Abdul Hai, Krishnapad Biswas, Akbar Ali and Abul Kashem allegedly embezzled over Tk 76 lakh.

The case has been filed against the accused under Section 409/109 of the Penal Code, Section 5 (2) of the Prevention of Corruption Act, 1947 and Section 4 (2) of the Prevention of Money Laundering Act, 2012.

- Advertisement -spot_img
More from this section