27 C
Sunday, May 22, 2022

Search Committee finalises 20 names for EC

- Advertisement -spot_img

The Search Committee has finalised a list of 20 candidates, out of 322, for the posts of Chief Election Commissioner and other Election Commissioners.

The Appellate Division justice Obaidul Hassan presided over the fifth meeting of the committee held at Supreme Court Judges’ Lounge in Dhaka on Sunday.

Search Committee members High Court Division Justice SM Kuddus Zaman, Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) Mohammad Muslim Chowdhury, Public Service Commission (PSC) Chairman Mohammed Sohrab Hossain, former Election Commissioner Mohammed Sohul Hossain and Writer Prof Anwara Syed Haq were present at the meeting.

The next meeting of the Search Committee will be held tomorrow (Sunday) at 4.30 pm.

On February 7, the Cabinet Division, which is providing secretarial support to the search committee, published 322 names which the political parties, professional bodies and individuals proposed to include in the search committee for formation of the next EC on its website.

The search committee will have to propose 10 names to the President.

Then the president will select five names for forming the next EC as per the law.

- Advertisement -spot_img
More from this section